Badges, $upporters of this community

Red.Fans

Administrator
Staff member
First off, thank you to @otis for leading the fund raising efforts for this site this past year. Today I got a bill for $650 to renew the domain. This is just one annual fee that I pay regularly to keep this site going. There are many fees for software, license/subscriptions, software tech support and other development beyond my own time.

I have always wanted to keep this a true community site and not charge anyone. When I first started this site, I was a small business owner and business was booming. It was so good that I had my employees custom building software that was unique to our community. The amount of manhours that went into it in the early years, is astronomical. In addition to that I was doing data entry but also had some awesome volunteers like @espken and @MCNPA doing an amazing amount of data entry like complete stats for all games and all players going back to the early 1900s as well as doing live updates to game scores and box scores to grow the larger database, year after year. Nobody else was doing anything like this.

I have not had a staff to rely upon for about 15 years now. I've been maintaining the site solo and when I hit some obstacle that I cannot tackle, I hire a contractor.

I am grateful to the men who have spent so much time on here volunteering for over quarter century! @espken still does database updates and would probably do more except that I have been the bottleneck in trying to keep the database tech upgraded over the years. @Knight is super diligent in keeping the game threads established and organized. @ohiofan often volunteers to do some of the less pleasant moderation tasks and I am regularly, even after all of these years, shocked that these accomplished men who surely have a lot better things to do, volunteer their time often on a daily basis. With the passing of SJUFAN2 I have felt especially inadequate in expressing this gratitude to these men.