Attendance

The reasoning that we should have tons of students showing up during break isn't a realistic one. I am currently a sophomore living on campus. I live on LI during breaks and have attended every game since the start of freshman year.

Regardless of what some of you believe, there are a good number of students from outside the area. These students are the ones you find caring for the program. They're the ones who came to St. John's for the "college experience" of going away to college and cheering on their school team. The commuters you guys rag on to come to games? They haven't come in the past and they're not going to start now. They treat STJ like a second high school - making no effort to get involved in anything outside of classes. **I'm sure there are commuters who aren't like this, but it is the majority.**

So, yes, I actually DO have a good number of friends who are currently in California, not to mention Mass, CT, PA, Michigan, Florida..the list goes on. They're the ones who have the season tickets, not the kid working two jobs and living with his parents in Queens.

At the Pitt game last year, the entire student sections on both sides behind the basket were filled to capacity. That was a combination of the rise of the team AND the fact that the game was during the semester. This year, there are far more student season ticket holders and I assure you it will be on display come late January and February.

One last note: Don't expect there to be a good student crowd against Georgetown. We're still on break and on top of that Georgetown students aren't. They're sending up 100 students in addition to alumni trips.

So here's to a great semester of tons of student involvement and some good wins. Lets go redmen! :woohoo: